Following a string of shows performed in isolation and brought together with innovative video and technology, Ekmeles comes together as a distanced and masked quartet, marking their first in-person performing since last January. The show will go live on February 27th at 8PM and stay online for a week following.

Excerpt from Kaija Saariaho’s Nuits, adieux

Watch the concert here!

Two microtonal world premieres – one from a composer living down the street, and one writing in Calgary, one with electronics and one without. Then a classic of live electronics and voices by Saariaho, a gossamer web built of two Emily Dickinson poems by Carolyn Chen, and a uniquely flexible soundworld written on graph paper by Nomi Epstein.

  • Jeff Myers – Advice to a Migraineure (2020) World Premiere
  • Rebecca Bruton – i n s t i t u (2021) World Premiere
  • Kaija Saariaho – Nuits, adieux (1991)
  • Carolyn Chen – fly blue between light (2015)
  • Nomi Epstein – Four Voices (2014)

Personnel for concert

Ekmeles’s 2020-2021 season is made possible with funds from the Amphion Foundation, The Aaron Copland Fund for Music, The Alice M. Ditson Fund, The Fritz Reiner Center for Contemporary Music, and the generosity of private donors.

This program is made possible in part with public funds from Creative Engagement, supported by New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew Cuomo and the New York State Legislature and administered by LMCC; and funding from the Upper Manhattan Empowerment Zone Development Corporation and administered by LMCC.

This program is supported, in part, by public funds from the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs in partnership with the City Council.

Tags: , , , ,

Comments are closed.